Central Government Holiday List 2024

Central Government Holiday List 2024 – A Central Government Holiday is a day off work that is granted to all employees of the Indian central government. These holidays are typically for national holidays, religious holidays, and other important occasions.

There are two types of Central Government Holidays:

Gazetted holidays: These are holidays that are announced by the government and are mandatory for all central government employees to take off. There are 16 gazetted holidays in India.

Optional holidays: These are holidays that are not mandatory for central government employees to take off, but they may be granted leave at the discretion of their employer. There are 12 optional holidays in India.

Free Printable Calendar 2024

12 Optional Holiday List

  • Republic day
  • Independence day
  • Mahatma gandhi’s birthday
  • Buddha purnima
  • Christmas day
  • Dussehra (vijayadashami)
  • Diwali (deepavali)
  • Good friday
  • Guru nanak’s birthday
  • Eid ul fitr
  • Eid ul adha
  • Mahavir jayanti
  • Muharram
  • Prophet mohammad’s birthday (id-e-milad).

Some of the most common Central Government Holidays include:

  • Republic Day (January 26)
  • Independence Day (August 15)
  • Mahatma Gandhi’s birthday (October 2)
  • Diwali (October/November)
  • Christmas Day (December 25)

Central Government Holidays can be a great time to relax and spend time with family and friends. They can also be an opportunity to travel and explore new places.

Holiday List 2024 for Central Government Employees

Watch Full Calendrer 2024 – Here

Central Govt Holidays 2023

1Republic Day26-Jan-24Friday
3Good Friday29-Mar-24Friday
5Ram Navami17-Apr-24Wednesday
6Mahavir Jayanti21-Apr-24Sunday
7Buddha Purnima23-May-24Thursday
8Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid)17-Jun-24Monday
10Independence Day15-Aug-24Thursday
11Janmashtami (Vaishnava)26-Aug-24Monday
12Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e-Milad (Birthday of Prophet Muhammad)16-Sep-24Monday
13Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday2-Oct-24Wednesday
15Diwali (Deepavali)31-Oct-24Thursday
16Guru Nanak’s Birthday15-Nov-24Friday
17Christmas Day25-Dec-24Wednesday

Compulsory Holiday and Restricted Holiday List 2024

1New Year’s Day1-Jan-24Monday
3Makar Sankranti14-Jan-24Sunday
4Magha Bihu/ Pongal15-Jan-24Monday
5Guru Gobind Singh’s Birthday17-Jan-24Wednesday
6Hazarat Ali’s Birthday25-Jan-24Thursday
7Sri Panchami, Basant Panchami14-Feb-24Wednesday
8Shiva ji Jayanti19-Feb-24Monday
9Guru Ravi Das’s Birthday24-Feb-24Saturday
10Birthday of Swami Dayananda Saraswati6-Mar-24Wednesday
11Maha Shivratri8-Mar-24Friday
12Holika dahan24-Mar-24Sunday
14Easter Sunday31-Mar-24Sunday
16Chaitra Sukladi / Gudi Padava/Ugadi/ Cheti Chand9-Apr-24Tuesday
17Vaisakhi / Vishu13-Apr-24Saturday
18Meshadi (Tamil New Year’s Day) / Vaisakhadi (Bengal) / Bahag Bihu (Assam)14-Apr-24Sunday
19Birthday of Guru Rabindranath Tagore8-May-24Wednesday
20Rath Yatra7-Jul-24Sunday
21Parsi New Year’s day/ Nauraj15-Aug-24Thursday
22Raksha Bandhan19-Aug-24Monday
23Ganesh Chaturthi / Vinayaka Chaturthi7-Sep-24Saturday
24Onam or Thiru Onam Day15-Sep-24Sunday
25Dusshera (Saptami)10-Oct-24Thursday
26Dussehra (Mahashtami) /Dussehra (Mahanavmi)11-Oct-24Friday
27Maharishi Valmiki’s Birthday17-Oct-24Thursday
28Karaka Chaturthi (Karwa Chouth)20-Oct-24Sunday
29Naraka Chaturdasi31-Oct-24Thursday
30Govardhan Puja2-Nov-24Saturday
31Bhai Duj3-Nov-24Sunday
31Pratihar Shashthi or Surya Shashthi (Chhat Puja)7-Nov-24Thursday
32Guru Teg Bahadur’s Martyrdom Day24-Nov-24Sunday
33Christmas Eve24-Dec-24Tuesday

Public Holidays in the National Capital Territory of Delhi 2024

1Republic Day26-01-2024Friday
3Good Friday29-03-2024Friday
4Id-ul Fitr11/4/2024Thursday
5Mahavir Jayanti24-04-2024Sunday
6Buddha Purnima23-05-2024Thursday
7Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid)17-06-2024Monday
9Independence Day15-08-2024Thursday
10Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e Milad16-09-2024Monday
(Birthday of Prophet Mohammad)
11Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday2/10/2024Wednesday
13Diwali (Deepavali)31-10-2024Thursday
14Guru Nanak’s Birthday15-11-2024Friday
15Christmas Day25-12-2024Wednesday

Delhi govt restricted holiday list 2024

1New Year’s Day1/1/2024Monday
3Makar Sankranti14-01-2024Sunday
4Magha Bihu/ Pongal15-01-2024Monday
5Guru Gobind Singh’s Birthday17-01-2024Wednesday
6Hazarat Ali’s Birthday25-01-2024Thursday
7Sri Panchami, Basant Panchami14-02-2024Wednesday
8Shiva ji Jayanti19-02-2024Monday
9Guru Ravi Das’s Birthday24-02-2024Saturday
10Birthday of6/3/2024Wednesday
Swami Dayananda Saraswati
11Maha Shivratri8/3/2024Friday
12Holika dahan24-03-2024Sunday
14Easter Sunday31-03-2024Sunday
16Chaitra Sukladi / Gudi Padava/ Ugadi / Cheti Chand9/4/2024Tuesday
17Vaisakhi / Vishu13-04-2024Saturday
18Meshadi (Tamil New Year’s Day) / Vaisakhadi (Bengal) / Bahag Bihu (Assam)14-04-2024Sunday
19Birthday of Guru Rabindranath Tagore8/5/2024Wednesday
20Rath Yatra7/7/2024Sunday
21Parsi New Year’s day/ Nauraj15-08-2024Thursday
22Raksha Bandhan19-08-2024Monday
23Ganesh Chaturthi / Vinayaka Chaturthi7/9/2024Saturday
24Onam or Thiru Onam Day15-09-2024Sunday
25Dusshera (Saptami)10/10/2024Thursday
26Dussehra (Mahashtami) / Dussehra (Mahanavmi)11/10/2024Friday
27Karaka Chaturthi (Karwa Chouth)20-10-2024Sunday
28Naraka Chaturdasi31-10-2024Thursday
29Govardhan Puja2/11/2024Saturday
30Bhai Duj3/11/2024Sunday
31Pratihar Shashthi or Surya Shashthi (Chhat Puja)7/11/2024Thursday
32Guru Teg Bahadur’s Martyrdom Day24-11-2024Sunday
33Christmas Eve24-12-2024Tuesday